Welcome to the Senate Standing Committee on Education

Next scheduled hearing date:
Wednesday, May 29, 2024
9:00 a.m.
Room 2100

2024 Bill Hearings, Amendments, and Position Letter Deadlines.

Bill Hearing DatePosition Letter Deadline
(By Noon)
Author Amendments
(By Noon)
Wednesday, May 29, 2024Friday, May 24, 2024Monday, May 20, 2024
Wednesday, June 5, 2024Friday, May 31, 2024Friday, May 24, 2024
Wednesday, June 12, 2024Friday, June 7, 2024Monday, June 3, 2024
Wednesday, June 19, 2024Friday, June 14, 2024Monday, June 10, 2024
Wednesday, June 26, 2024Friday, June 21, 2024Monday, June 17, 2024
Wednesday, July 3, 2024Friday, June 28, 2024Monday, June 24, 2024


Support and opposition letters are due by 12:00 noon the Friday prior to a scheduled hearing in order to be included in the analyses.

  • Letters must be on letterhead with a signature and title of an official of the organization or designated authorized representative.
  • Coalition letters must have logos, signatures, and titles for all organizations.
  • Letters of conditional support or opposition WILL NOT be listed in the Committee analysis.
  • Letters must clearly indicate the organization's position (letters containing "concern" will not be listed).
  • Submit letters only once unless the bill is subsequently amended, causing uncertainty as to the organization's present position.
  • Please continue to submit position letters on bills that have passed out of our Committee for future floor analysis on the bill.

Letters can be sent to the Committee by:

  • Using the Advocacy Portal by clicking on the "Submit Position Letter" icon below.
  • Mailed to us at: Senate Education Committee, 1021 O Street, Suite 6740, Sacramento, CA 95814.

For information on how to submit a position letter, please see the directions below:

For detailed directions on submitting a position letter:Advocacy Quick Reference Guide


After completing a one-time registration to obtain a username and password, log in to submit your position letter as a registered lobbyist, organization, or individual seeking to communicate your views to the bill author’s staff as well as the committee that will be hearing the bill.

Please note the various ways we are available to assist you:

Committee Phone: 916-651-4105
Email: sedn.committee@senate.ca.gov


committee roomThe Senate Education Committee meets every Wednesday at 9:00 am in Room 2100.

JURISDICTION: Bills relating to education, higher education, and certificated educational personnel.
Committee Agenda

Year End Summary
Oversight/Informational Hearings
Bill Hearings
Senate Education Committee

2023-2024 Committee Rules
2023-2024 Background Request Form
2023-2024 Curriculum Policy
For information on how to submit a position letter please see the Advocacy Quick Reference Guide