Welcome to the Senate Standing Committee on Education

DURING THESE UNPRECEDENTED TIMES, WE ARE AVAILABLE TO ASSIST YOU

To protect public health and slow the transmission of the coronavirus (COVID-19), the State Capitol is closed to the public.  However, we are working remotely to continue to serve you. 

  • We are receiving office phone calls and responding to all email communication during the business hours of 9:00 am ~ 5:00 pm ~ Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. 
     
  • We will continue to receive position letters on all legislation via the advocacy portal, fax, and mail. (change language to be specific to each committee) 
     
  • We will continue to keep our website up to date on the status of our bill hearings.
     
  • Author’s Amendments to bills in our committee will be accepted and processed during the recess. 

 

Please note the various ways we are available to assist you:
 

Committee phone: 916-651-4105
 

Committee Staff:

Lynn Lorber, Chief Consultant  --  lynn.lorber@sen.ca.gov

Olgalilia Ramirez, Consultant  --  olgalilia.ramirez@sen.ca.gov

Ian Johnson, Consultant  --  ian.johnson@sen.ca.gov

Brandon Darnell, Consultant  --  brandon.darnell@sen.ca.gov

Lauren Robinson, Committee Secretary  --  lauren.robinson@sen.ca.gov

Irma Kam, Committee Assistant  --  irma.kam@sen.ca.gov

 

PLEASE REACH OUT SHOULD YOU NEED TO COMMUNICATE WITH THE COMMITTEE OFFICE.

 


For information on how to submit a position letter please see the directions below:

Advocacy Quick Reference Guide

Submit Position Letter


committee room

The Senate Education Committee meets every Wednesday at 9:00 am in Room 4203.

JURISDICTION: Bills relating to education, higher education, and certificated educational personnel.


Members:

Senator Connie M. Leyva (Chair)   Senator Connie M. Leyva (Chair) (D)

Senator Scott Wilk (Vice Chair)   Senator Scott Wilk (Vice Chair) (R)

Senator Ling Ling Chang   Senator Ling Ling Chang (R)

Senator Maria Elena Durazo   Senator Maria Elena Durazo (D)

Senator Steven M. Glazer   Senator Steven M. Glazer (D)

Senator Mike McGuire   Senator Mike McGuire (D)

Senator Richard Pan   Senator Richard Pan (D)

Current Membership:

5 Democrats
2 Republicans

 


 

Committee Agenda

 

Senate Education Committee

Committee Address

Staff