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SUMMARY
This bill, until July 1, 2022;

1. Exempts up to 200 students in any academic year from paying non-resident
tuition fees if they attend the Lake Tahoe Community College (LTCC) and reside
in specified communities in the State of Nevada, and

2. Permits the LTCC to count these persons as resident full-time equivalent
students (FTES) for purposes of determining California apportionment funding.

The bill makes these provisions contingent upon a determination by the Chancellor of
the California Community Colleges that the State of Nevada has enacted a statute
providing reasonably conforming reciprocal rights to California residents attending
Nevada colleges.

BACKGROUND

Current law authorizes a community college district (CCD) to admit non-resident
students and requires that these students be charged a tuition fee that is twice the
amount of the fee established for in-state resident students, with certain specified
exemptions. State statute prescribes a formula for the calculation of the non-resident
fee. Beginning July 1, 2013, state law requires the non-resident tuition fee be increased
to a level that is three times the amount of the fee established for in-state resident
students.

Current law prohibits non-resident students from being reported as FTES for state
apportionment purposes, except where (1) the CCD has less than 1500 FTES and is
within 10 miles of another state and has a reciprocity agreement with that state, or (2) if
a CCD has between 1501 and 3000 FTES and is within 10 miles of another state and
has a reciprocity agreement with that state, they can claim up to 100 FTES for state
apportionment purposes. (Education Code § 76140)

Existing law authorizes the Board of Governors of the CCC to enter into an interstate
attendance agreement with any statewide pubic agency of another state that is
responsible for public institutions of postsecondary education providing the first two
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years of college instruction, and that is an agency of a state that is a member of
Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE).
(Education Code § 66801)

ANALYSIS

This bill exempts persons residing in specified communities in the State of Nevada from
paying non-resident tuition fees if they attend the Lake Tahoe Community College
(LTCC). More specifically, it:

1. Exempts up to 200 students in any academic year who attend Lake Tahoe
Community College (LTCC) from being charged non-resident student tuition fees
if they reside in one of the following communities in Nevada:

A. Incline Village.
B. Kingsbury.

C. Round Hill.

D. Skyland.

E. Stateline.

F. Zephyr Cove.

2. Deems a student to have residence in one of the communities listed above if they
lived in that community for more than one year immediately prior to seeking the
fee exemption.

3. Requires the LTCC to adopt rules and regulations for determining a student's
residence classification and for establishing procedures to appeal and review this
determination.

4. Authorizes the LTCC to report the non-resident students who are exempt from
paying non-resident fees pursuant to the bill’s provisions as resident full-time
equivalent students (FTES) for state apportionment purposes.

5. Sunsets these provisions on July 1, 2022.
STAFF COMMENTS

1. Need for the bill. According to the author, this bill is intended to respond to the
concerns raised regarding similar legislation (introduced in prior sessions) to
ensure that Nevada students residing in close proximity to California can attend
California community colleges without being compelled to pay non-resident
tuition. This bill, unlike the prior bill, establishes a 6 year pilot program, limits its
provisions to Lake Tahoe Community College and specified Nevada
communities, caps the total number of students that may be exempted from non-
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resident tuition, and makes the pilot program contingent upon California residents
being provided reciprocal rights by the State of Nevada.

2. Fee changes effective July 1, 2013. According to the Senate Budget
Committee, as part of the 2012 Budget Act, the State changed the level of non-
resident fees to $138 per unit (three times the amount of California resident
student fee of $46 per unit). By establishing neighboring state student fees at a
multiple of the current California resident student fee, the new fee would allow
neighboring student fees to adjust in concert with any future adjustments to
resident student fees. The Budget Committee indicated this fee level would be
approximately midway between Oregon, Nevada, and Arizona resident student
fees, that range in the mid-$70 per unit, and California non-resident student fees,
that range around $200 per unit.

As of March 2013, the State Chancellor's office reported that statewide there
were 11,300 unfunded full-time equivalent students (FTES), students that
attended a California Community College (CCC), but where the state did not
provide funding. The Lake Tahoe Community College reported zero unfunded
FTES. Generally, CCCs in declining enrollment enjoy a one-year funding grace
period from the decline and, after that; the unused FTES is redistributed within
the community college system.

3. Reciprocity, a mutual exchange of interests, no longer exists with Nevada.
According to the Legislative Analyst Office, in August 2011, the State of Nevada
terminated the "Good Neighbor" tuition agreement that allowed California
students from designated counties to attend Nevada colleges at significantly
reduced non-resident tuition rates. Under this agreement, Nevada students were
also able to enroll in the California Community Colleges (specifically, Lassen,
Feather River, Lake Tahoe, Palo Verde, Siskiyou and Barstow) without having to
pay full non-resident tuition.

Effective, November 2011, California students enrolling for the first time in
Nevada colleges were charged the full non-resident tuition and all the California
Community Colleges were required to charge non-resident tuition for Nevada
residents enrolling for the first time in California, effectively ending the ability of
the California Community Colleges (CCC) to provide exemptions for Nevada
students. From 1992 through 2011, California and Nevada had a "Good
Neighbor" agreement (reciprocity) in place.

Reciprocity agreements, allow the flow of tangible economic and educational
benefits to citizens of both states. The absence of a "good neighbor"” or
reciprocity agreement would shift the total burden of paying for these benefits to
California residents.

4. Related Nevada activity. In March 2015, the Nevada legislature introduced
SB 414 (Setelmayer) which encourages the Regents of the University of Nevada
to authorize waivers of non-resident tuition to certain residents of the Lake Tahoe
Basin. Notwithstanding the proposed legislation, the setting of fees and tuition,
including general policies, is under the jurisdiction of the Nevada Higher
Education System (NHES) Board of Regents in Nevada. According to the
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Chancellor of the NHES Board of Regents, in March 2014 the Board adopted a
policy that authorizes an individual campus to bring forth a tuition discount
program if it chooses. Title 4, Chapter 17, Section 13 establishes the following
policy regarding tuition or registration fee discounts:

Nevada Higher Education System (NHES) institutions may bring forward for
Board approval tuition and/or registration fee discounts. Proposals for such
discounts must be accompanied by documentation justifying the discount based
on the goals of the institution and any related market considerations, including
the ability to compete with other non-NSHE institutions. Institutions may be
required to report periodically on approved tuition or registration fee discounts
upon request of the Chancellor or the Board.

5. Misplaced authority. This bill makes the pilot program contingent upon a
determination by the Chancellor’s office that the State of Nevada has enacted
statute providing reciprocal rights to California residents attending Nevada
colleges. Current law authorizes the Board of Governors (BOG) to enter into
interstate attendance agreements and, consistent with this authority, the BOG
entered into an agreement with the State of Oregon acting by and through the
State Board of Higher Education, on behalf of the Oregon University System.
According to the author, it is the intent of this bill to establish authority, on a pilot
basis for an interstate attendance agreement between Lake Tahoe Community
College and Western Nevada College.

Staff recommends the bill be amended in Section 5 to make the bill’s provisions
contingent upon the Board of Governors having entered into an interstate
attendance agreement with the Nevada System of Higher Education, prior to July
1, 2021 and consistent with the requirements of 66801 (a), that provides
reciprocal rights to California residents attending Western Nevada College that
reasonably conform to the benefits conferred upon Nevada residents by Section
1 of this act.

SUPPORT

Heavenly Lake Tahoe

Lake Tahoe Community College District

Lake Tahoe Regional Fire Chiefs Association
Lake Tahoe South Shore Chamber of Commerce
Meeks Bay Fire Protection District

OPPOSITION

None received.
-- END --



