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SUMMARY 
 
This bill provides that the high school proficiency exam is to cover four specified subject 
areas, and authorizes the fee for the high school equivalency exam to be increased. 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Existing law requires: 
 
High school proficiency exam 
 
1) The California Department of Education (CDE) to develop standards of 

competency in basic skills taught in public high schools and provide for the 
administration of exams to verify competency.   
 

2) The following people to be permitted to have his or her proficiency in basic skills 
verified according to criteria established by the CDE: 

 
a) Any person who is at least 16 years of age. 

 
b) Any person who has been enrolled in grade 10 for one academic year or 

longer. 
 

c) Any person who will complete one academic year of enrollment in grade 
10 at the end of the semester during which the next regular examination 
will be conducted.  (Education Code § 48412) 
 

3) The State Board of Education to award a “certificate of proficiency” to people who 
achieve a passing score on the proficiency exam.  The certificate of proficiency is 
equivalent to a high school diploma.   
(EC § 48412) 

 
High school equivalency tests 
 
4) Provides that a California high school equivalency certificate is deemed to be a 

high school diploma for the purpose of meeting the requirements of employment 
by all state and local public agencies in California. (EC § 51425) 
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5) Requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction (SPI) to issue a California high 

school equivalency certificate and an official score report to any person who has 
not completed high school and who meets the following requirements: 
 
a) Is a resident of California or member of armed services assigned to duty in 

California. 
 

b) Has taken all or a portion of a general educational development test that 
has been approved by the State Board of Education (SBE) and that is 
administered by a testing center approved by the California Department of 
Education (CDE), with a score determined by SBE to be equal to the 
standard of performance expected from high school graduates. 
 

c) Meets one of the following: 
 
i) Is at least 18 years old. 

 
ii) Would have graduated from high school had he or she remained in 

school and followed the usual course of study toward graduation. 
 

iii) Is at least 17 years of age, has accumulated fewer than 100 units of 
high school credit, and is confined to a state or county hospital or to 
an institution maintained by a state or county correctional agency.  
 

iv) Is at least 17 years of age, has accumulated fewer than 100 units of 
high school credit prior to enrollment in a specified academic 
program, and has successfully completed the academic program 
offered by a dropout recovery high school, as specified.  (EC § 
51420) 

 
Fees 
 
6) Authorizes CDE to charge a fee for each high school proficiency exam 

application in an amount sufficient to recover the costs of administering the exam 
and related requirements.  Existing law prohibits the CDE from charging the fee 
for the high school proficiency exam to a foster youth or to a homeless child or 
youth under the age of 25 years who can verify his or her status as a homeless 
child or youth.  (EC § 48412) 
 

7) Authorizes the SPI to charge a one-time fee (established by the SBE) to people 
taking the high school equivalency exam in an amount sufficient to pay the cost 
of administering the exam and related requirements, and for the cost of providing 
services related to the completion of an equivalency exam.  Existing law prohibits 
a contractor or testing center from charging a separate fee to an examinee who 
is a foster youth or to a homeless child or youth under the age of 25 years who 
can verify his or her status as a homeless child or youth.  Existing law caps the 
fee at $20.  (EC § 51421) 
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ANALYSIS 
 
This bill provides that the high school proficiency exam is to cover four specified subject 
areas, and authorizes the fee for the high school equivalency exam to be increased.  
Specifically, this bill: 
 
High school proficiency exam 
 
1) Provides for the awarding of a certificate of proficiency in the four content areas 

of English language arts, history-social science, mathematics, and science. 
 

2) Requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction to review existing tests that 
assess the four content areas to determine if any meet the criteria established by 
the California Department of Education (CDE). 
 

3) Broadens the reasons for which a person may take the exam at a time other than 
the regularly scheduled exam by deleting the specific reasons in statute (persons 
whose religious convictions or physical handicaps prevent their attending one of 
the regular exams).  
 

High school equivalency exam 
 
4) Strikes the one-time nature of the exam fee, and increases the cap of $20 to up 

to $40 per person. 
 
STAFF COMMENTS 
 
1) Need for the bill.  According to the author, “The current test for the California 

High School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE) will no longer be supported by the 
test company after 2018.  The California Department of Education (CDE) needs 
to put out a Request for Proposal to identify a new test for the CHSPE.  This bill 
would allow the CDE to update the test for CHSPE by requiring the 
Superintendent of Public Instruction to consider existing tests that assess English 
language arts, mathematics, science, and history-social science. 
 
The statutory administrative fee cap for the high school equivalency program has 
not been changed since 1981.  The State Board of Education approved the last 
administrative fee increase from $12 to $20 in 2004.  Since 2004, the costs and 
workload for administering the program has increased.  Currently, state 
expenditures exceed the revenues collected from the administrative fee.  In 
addition, the state has not provided any funds to cover the costs of the fee 
waivers for homeless and foster youth.” 
 

2) High school proficiency vs high school equivalency.  This bill relates to both 
the high school proficiency exam and the high school equivalency exam. 
 
The high school proficiency exam may be taken by a student who is at least 16 
years of age and has been enrolled in grade 10 for at least one year.  The CDE 
has designated the CHSPE as the test by which students may verify proficiency 
in basic skills.   
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The high school equivalency exam may be taken by a person who is at least 18 
years of age, or at least 17 years of age and has accumulated fewer than 100 
units of high school credit  and is incarcerated or has completed an academic 
program offered by a dropout recovery high school. 
 
The State Board of Education has approved the use of three high school 
equivalency tests: 
 
a) The General Educational Development Test (GED). 

 
b) The High School Equivalency Test (HiSET). 

 
c) The Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC). 

 
3) Contract for the high school proficiency exam.  The California Department of 

Education (CDE) is currently under contract with the Sacramento County Office 
of Education for the administration of the CHSPE; this contract will expire in June 
2018.  The test vendor has notified the CDE that it is not going to support the test 
(update the test questions, for example) once the contract expires.   
 
As a result, there will not be an exam to use for high school proficiency after June 
2018.  This bill requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction (SPI) to review 
existing exams that contain the specified four content areas to determine if any 
can be used for purposes of high school proficiency.   
 
Current law does not specify the subject areas in which a student is to 
demonstrate proficiency (rather, the CDE has developed standards of 
competency in basic skills which only cover English language arts and 
mathematics). This bill adds science and history-social science, thereby 
increasing the possibility for an existing exam, such as a high school equivalency 
exam, to be deemed appropriate for use as a high school proficiency exam. 
 

4) Fee for high school equivalency exam.  This bill increases the cap on the state 
administrative fee for the high school equivalency exam, from up to $20 to up to 
$40, and removes the one-time nature of the fee.  This bill does not alter the fee 
that may be charged for the high school proficiency exam. 
 
The fee for the high school equivalency exam is used to pay for the cost of 
administering the exam and related statutory requirements, and for the cost of 
providing services related to the completion of an equivalency exam (scoring and 
awarding of proficiency certificate, and waivers for students who are homeless or 
foster youth).  As noted by the author, this fee has not changed since 2004, and 
no funding has been provided to cover the costs of the fee waivers for homeless 
and foster youth.   
 
Currently, examinees pay the $20 fee once and can retake the equivalency exam 
(any portion not passed) into perpetuity.  The changes proposed by this bill would 
require an examinee to pay up to $40 for taking the equivalency exam (with up to 
two retakes), and subsequently to retake any portion of the exam (up to three 
additional times).   
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Existing law prohibits an exam fee from being charged to examinees who are 
homeless or foster youth, as defined, but does not exempt this population from 
paying the one-time $20 state administrative fee.  Could increasing the 
administrative fee up to $40 preclude some homeless or foster youth from taking 
the high school equivalency exam? 
 

5) Reimbursements vs absorbing costs.  Existing law authorizes the 
Superintendent of Public Instruction (SPI) to use surplus funds in the Special 
Deposit Fund Account to reimburse contractors for the loss of fees (for waivers of 
fees for homeless and foster youth).  Existing law provides that a contract for the 
provision of high school equivalency exams must require that any contracting 
party accept all examinees, including those entitled to a fee waiver. 
 
Existing law also requires the California Department of Education (CDE) to 
include a provision in all memorandums of understanding with contractors that if 
the surplus funds in the Special Deposit Fund Account are depleted, the ongoing 
costs of a fee waiver is to be absorbed by the contractor.  According to the CDE, 
the 2017-18 year-end balance for the Special Deposit Fund Account and 
revenues will be insufficient to support the administration of the high school 
equivalency program as well as the homeless and foster youth waivers for the 
2018-19 fiscal year.  Based on revenue estimates and expenditures, the Special 
Deposit Fund Account for the 2018-19 fiscal year will be depleted with a negative 
year-end fund balance. 
 

6) Report on equivalency exam.  Existing law requires the SPI to report to the 
Legislature by December 1, 2018, on all of the following: 
 
a) The number of homeless youth and foster youth that took a high school 

equivalency exam in each of the 2016, 2017, and 2018 calendar years. 
 

b) The impact of the opportunity to take an equivalency exam at no cost on 
the number and percentage of homeless youth and foster youth taking an 
equivalency exam. 
 

c) The estimated number of homeless youth and foster youth who may take 
a high school equivalency exam in future years. 
 

d) Recommendations for a permanent funding source to cover the costs of 
waived fees. 
 

e) The annual and projected administrative cost to the CDE. 
 

f) The annual and projected reimbursement to the exam contractor.  
 

7) Related legislation.  AB 1202 (Baker) adds a student who is exceptionally gifted 
to the eligibility criteria for taking the high school proficiency exam, and 
specifically authorizes a student under 16 years of age who receives a certificate 
of proficiency to be admitted to attend a community college if the community 
college district determines specified conditions are met.  AB 1202 was never 
heard. 
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SUPPORT 
 
State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Tom Torlakson 
 
OPPOSITION 
 
None received 
 

-- END -- 


