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SUMMARY 
 
This bill eliminates the January 1, 2020, sunset date on the granting of priority 
enrollment for homeless students in the California State University (CSU) and 
community colleges, and extends this priority to formerly homeless youth, thereby 
extending priority enrollment for homeless and formerly homeless students into 
perpetuity.  This bill also extends to former homeless youth several benefits and 
protections that are currently afforded to current and former foster youth and currently 
homeless students. 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Existing law: 
 
Priority enrollment 
 
1) Requires the CSU and each community college district, and requests the 

University of California, to grant priority for registration for enrollment to a foster 
youth or former foster youth, or until January 1, 2020, homeless youth.  
(Education Code § 66025.9) 
 

2) Defines “homes youth” as a student under 25 years of age, who has been 
verified at any time during the 24 months immediately preceding the receipt of 
the youth’s application for admission by a qualifying postsecondary educational 
institution as a homeless child or youth, by a specified person or entity.  (EC § 
66025.9) 
 

Homeless and Foster Student Liaison 
 
3) Requires a qualifying postsecondary educational institution to designate a staff 

member who is employed within the financial aid office to serve as the Homeless 
and Foster Student Liaison.  Existing law requires the liaison to be responsible 
for understanding the provisions of the federal Higher Education Act pertaining to 
financial aid eligibility of current and former foster youth and homeless youth, and 
for identifying services available and appropriate for enrolled students who fall 
under one or more of these categories.  (EC § 67003.5) 
 

Community College Student Financial Aid Outreach Program 
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4) Establishes the Community College Student Financial Aid Outreach Program, to 

be administered by the California Student Aid Commission (CSAC) in 
consultation with the office of the Chancellor of the California Community 
Colleges to provide financial aid training to high school and community college 
counselors and advisers who work with students planning to attend or attending 
a community college.  Existing law requires the training to address the specific 
needs of specified categories of students.  (EC § 69514.5) 
 

Student Opportunity and Access Program 
 
5) Provides that the Student Opportunity and Access Program is to be administered 

by CSAC, and authorizes CSAC to apportion funds for the support of projects 
designed to increase the accessibility of postsecondary educational opportunities 
for specified categories of elementary and secondary school students.  (EC § 
69561) 
 

Community college student fee waiver 
 
6) Requires the governing board of each community college district to charge each 

student a fee of $46 per unit per semester, and requires the fee to be waived for 
any student who meets specified requirements, including status of homeless 
youth at the time of enrollment.  (EC § 76300) 

 
ANALYSIS 
 
This bill: 
 
Priority enrollment 
 
1) Extends the requirement for the California State University and community 

colleges, and request for the University of California, to grant priority enrollment 
to apply to formerly homeless youth. 
 

2) Eliminates the January 1 2020, sunset date on the granting of priority enrollment 
for homeless students, thereby extending priority enrollment for homeless and 
formerly homeless students into perpetuity.   
 

3) Modifies the definition of “homeless youth” to include former homeless youth. 
 

Homeless and Foster Student Liaison 
 
4) Extends the role of a postsecondary educational institutions’ Homeless and 

Foster Student Liaison to include former homeless youth. 
 

Community College Student Financial Aid Outreach Program 
 
5) Adds former homeless youth to the categories of students for which financial aid 

training is to address their needs.   
 

Student Opportunity and Access Program 



AB 806 (Bloom)   Page 3 of 4 
 
6) Adds former homeless youth to the categories of elementary and secondary 

students for which the California Student Aid Commission may apportion funds 
for the support of projects designed to increase the accessibility of 
postsecondary educational opportunities for students.   
 

Community college student fee waiver 
 
7) Extends existing fee waiver requirements to former homeless youth. 
 
STAFF COMMENTS 
 
1) Need for the bill.  According to the author, “The current statute allowing 

homeless youth to access priority enrollment at the California State University, 
community colleges and the University of California sunsets on January 1, 2020, 
ending much needed benefits and programs for homeless students.  Additionally, 
due to an oversight in AB 801 (Bloom, Chapter 432, 2016), the definition did not 
capture current and former homeless youth as it does in AB 1228 (Gipson, 
Chapter 571, 2015).  This bill will rectify this oversight and align the two 
definitions” 
 

2) Priority enrollment.  With regard to the California State University (CSU), each 
campus has established general registration priorities.  For example, continuing 
students generally are allowed to enroll in courses before new students enroll.  
Some campuses grant secondary priority to students who transferred with an 
associate or transfer degree, or who participate in the California Promise 
Program.   
 
Existing law requires the CSU and/or California Community Colleges (CCCs), 
and requests the University of California to grant priority enrollment to the 
following students: 
 
a) Current and former foster youth (CSU and CCCs). 

 
b) Until January 1, 2020, homeless youth (CSU and CCCs). 

 
c) Any member or former member of the Armed Forces of the United States, 

and who is a resident of California, who has received an honorable 
discharge, a general discharge, or an other than honorable discharge, and 
to any member or former member of the State Military Reserve, for any 
academic term attended at one of these institutions for four academic 
years after he or she has left state or federal active duty, which he or she 
shall use within 15 years of leaving state or federal active duty. (CSU and 
CCCs). 
 

d) Any student who is a CalWORKs or Tribal TANF recipient (CCCs). 
 

e) Students in the Community College Extended Opportunity Programs and 
Services program, and disabled students who are determined to be 
eligible for disabled student programs and services (CCCs). 
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3) Fiscal impact.  According to the Assembly Appropriations Committee, this bill 

would impose: 
 
a) Minor Proposition 98 General Fund costs to California Community 

Colleges (CCC) campuses. Formerly homeless students already qualify 
for a CCC fee waiver if they are considered low-income. The state would 
need to reimburse these costs to CCC, if the Commission on State 
Mandates determines the bill’s requirements to be a reimbursable state 
mandate. 
 

b) Minor and absorbable General Fund cost pressures to California State 
University campuses.  
 

c) Minor and absorbable General Fund cost pressures to University of 
California campuses. 

 
SUPPORT 
 
California Coalition for Youth (co-sponsor) 
SchoolHouse Connection (co-sponsor) 
Aspiranet 
California Catholic Conference 
California Community Colleges Chancellor’s Office 
City of Santa Monica 
Los Angeles Homeless Services Authority Commission 
National Association of Social Workers, California Chapter 
 
OPPOSITION 
 
None received 
 

-- END -- 


