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SUMMARY 
 
This bill requires that school districts, charter schools, and community colleges provide 
at least six weeks of full pay for pregnancy-related leave of absence taken by 
certificated, academic, and classified employees.   
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Existing law: 
 
1) Establishes the California Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA), under 

which it is an unlawful employment practice, unless based upon a bona fide 
occupational qualification, for an employer to refuse to allow a female employee 
disabled by pregnancy, childbirth, or a related medical condition to take a leave 
for a reasonable period of time not to exceed four months and thereafter return to 
work.  The employee is entitled to utilize any accrued vacation leave during this 
period of time.  Also under the FEHA, reasonable accommodation of a disability 
related to pregnancy can include an extended leave of absence. 
 

2) Establishes the California Family Rights Act (CFRA), providing certain 
employees up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave per year for the 
purpose of bonding with a child, care for a parent, spouse, or child with a serious 
health condition, or due to an employee’s own serious health condition, and 
requires group health benefits to be maintained during the leave as if employees 
continued to work instead of taking leave. 
 

3) Requires school districts to provide for a leave of absence from duty for a 
certificated employee of the school district who is required to be absent from 
duties because of pregnancy, miscarriage, childbirth, and recovery therefrom.  
Requires that the length of the leave of absence be determined by the employee 
and the employee’s physician. 
  

4) Requires school districts to provide for a leave of absence from duty for a 
classified employee of the school district who is required to be absent from duties 
because of pregnancy, childbirth, and convalescence therefrom.  Requires that 
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the length of the leave of absence be determined by the employee and the 
employee’s physician. 
 

5) Specifies that during each school year, when a person employed in a position 
requiring certification qualifications has exhausted all available sick leave, 
including all accumulated sick leave, and continues to be absent from his or her 
duties on account of illness or accident for an additional period of five school 
months, the amount deducted from the salary due him or her for any of the 
additional five months in which the absence occurs shall not exceed the sum that 
is actually paid a substitute employee employed to fill his or her position during 
his or her absence or, if no substitute employee was employed, the amount that 
would have been paid to the substitute had he or she been employed.  Specifies 
the following: 

 
a) The sick leave, including accumulated sick leave, and the five-month 

period run consecutively. 
 
b) Limits the benefit to one five-month period per illness or accident. 

However, if a school year terminates before the five-month period is 
exhausted, the employee may take the balance of the five-month period in 
a subsequent school year. 

 
6) Requires that certificated and classified employees that participate in the 

differential pay program receive no less than 50 percent of their regular salary 
during the period of such absence. 

 
ANALYSIS 
 
This bill: 
 
1) Requires that at least six weeks of a pregnancy and childbirth related leave of 

absence for certificated and classified employees of school districts and charter 
schools, and for academic or classified employees of community colleges, be 
with full pay. 
 

2) Stipulates that the paid leave may begin before and/or continue after childbirth, 
provided that the employee is disabled by pregnancy, childbirth, or a related 
condition. 

 
3) Stipulates that paid leave taken per the above shall not diminish the employee's 

right to take or be compensated for other leaves of absence, including disability 
leave, sick leave, bonding leave, vacation leave, and pregnancy leave under the 
California Fair Employment and Housing Act, even when other leaves are taken 
due to illness or injury resulting from pregnancy, miscarriage, childbirth, or 
recovery therefrom. 

 
STAFF COMMENTS 
 
1) Need for the bill.  According to the author, “California is facing a significant 

teacher shortage, with most districts this year reporting difficulty in filling 
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positions, according to research by the Learning Policy Institute.  Young 
individuals are simply not being attracted to the profession and obtaining the 
proper credentials at the rate needed to fully serve California’s students.  One 
reason for this is a lack of incentives for young individuals to consider entering 
the profession and staying in it.  For instance, teachers face a difficult job for 
typically low pay and may struggle to find housing. Schools have also struggled 
to retain teachers, which negatively impacts students and imposes additional 
costs on the districts.  
 
Existing law provides that schools must allow their female employees to take 
unpaid leave for pregnancy, childbirth or related medical conditions, and that 
after having exhausted vacation (if applicable) or sick leave, the employee may 
receive differential pay―the remainder of their salary after the school’s costs of 
paying for a substitute―for a period of up to five months.   
 
However, unpaid leave means female employees may be left struggling due to 
the loss of income, and not be able to afford to take the necessary time off during 
their pregnancies or after childbirth for recovery.  Being able to take this time off 
is important for the health of the mother and the child, as it has been linked to 
healthier birth weights, decreased premature births and decreased infant 
mortality rates.  
 
Paid leave benefits have been shown to help increase worker retention and 
reduce turnover, particularly for women.  This bill will help keep valued school 
employees in the workforce after having children, and will end the current 
discriminatory practice that forces female employees to utilize their sick leave in 
order to bear children.” 

 
2) Pregnancy disability leave.  Existing law provides that it is unlawful to refuse to 

allow a female employee disabled by pregnancy, childbirth, or a related medical 
condition to take leave not to exceed four months.  The employee is entitled to 
use vacation leave during this time.  Once the vacation time is exhausted, the 
employee can receive differential pay for the remaining time, for up to five 
months.  
 

3) Protected leave.  Existing law also prohibits, except under certain 
circumstances, the refusal to grant a request by any employee with a certain 
amount of service to take up to a total of 12 workweeks in a 12 month period for 
family care and medical leave.  The employer is required to provide the 
employee a guarantee of employment in the same or comparable position upon 
the termination of the leave.  The law specifies that this protected leave is 
separate and distinct from the pregnancy disability leave.  Once an employee is 
cleared to return to work by a physician, the employee may take this protected 
leave.   
 
The federal Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the California Family Rights 
Act (CFRA) provide certain employees up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected 
leave a year for the purpose of bonding with a child, care for a parent, spouse, or 
child with a serious health condition, or due to an employee’s own serious health 
condition, and requires group health benefits to be maintained during the leave 



AB 568 (Gonzalez Fletcher)   Page 4 of 5 
 

as if employees continued to work instead of taking leave.  But there is no pay 
associated with the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the California Family 
Rights Act (CFRA), other than what the employee has earned in other accrued 
leaves that may apply.  The FMLA and CFRA are only employment protected 
leaves. 

 
4) Paid Family Leave (PFL).  The PFL program extends disability compensation to 

individuals (male or female) who take time off work to care for a seriously ill child, 
spouse, parent, domestic partner, or to bond with a new child, or a child in 
connection with adoption or foster care placement.  The PFL program is a 
component of the State Disability Insurance (SDI) program and workers covered 
by the SDI program are also covered for this benefit.  The maximum benefit is six 
times the weekly benefit amount, with no more than six weeks of PFL benefits 
paid within any 12-month period.  Employees may only be eligible for the PFL 
program if they are covered by the SDI program through a negotiated agreement 
with the State of California.  If an employee does not pay into the SDI program, 
he or she would not be eligible to receive disability compensation under PFL.  In 
this scenario and assuming the employee is on leave for bonding time, the 
employee would need to use vacation time, sick leave, or personal necessity to 
receive compensation or elect to take leave without pay.   
 

5) Arguments in support.  The California Federation of Teachers writes: “Many 
school employees are not covered by the state disability insurance (SDI) and 
thus do not receive any type of paid leave under that program, unlike private 
employees.  This means female employees are forced to exhaust their sick or 
vacation days for pregnancy and childbirth, which depletes their accrued leave 
and limits their ability to fully recuperate prior to returning to work.  Female school 
employees are left with the decision to either “schedule” pregnancies based on 
the school calendar, or try to get by without pay.  This current practice 
discriminates against women as only they are required to deplete their leave 
balances in order to bear children.” 
 

6) Arguments in opposition.  The California Association of School Business 
Officials (CASBO) writes: “CASBO agrees with the intent of the author to provide 
financial security and accommodation for specified time of leave to school 
employees.  However, establishing a new benefit with a minimum of 6 weeks 
paid leave and no cap provided, makes it difficult for school districts to budget for 
a new benefit leave program, including the cost for a substitute teacher or 
classified staff.  Without a direct state funding source, this adds to the school 
district’s financial burden as a new liability to be absorbed within an already 
constrained fiscal environment.” 

 
SUPPORT 
 
California Federation of Teachers (co-sponsor) 
Service Employees International Union (co-sponsor) 
American Civil Liberties Union of California 
American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees 
California Employment Lawyers Association 
California Labor Federation 
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California Professional Firefighters 
California School Employees Association 
California Teachers Association 
California Teamsters Public Affairs Council 
EdVoice 
Faculty Association of California Community Colleges 
Legal Aid at Work 
Numerous individuals 
Planned Parenthood Affiliates of California  
 
OPPOSITION 
 
Association of California Community College Administrators 
California Association of Joint Powers Authorities 
California Association of School Business Officials 
Community College League of California 
Orange County Department of Education 
Riverside County Superintendent of Schools 
School Employers Association of California 
Schools Excess Liability Fund 
 
 

-- END -- 


