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SUMMARY 
 
This bill makes a number of statewide changes to subsidized child care and 
development programs, including raising the income eligibility threshold for families; 
changing the age restrictions for California State Preschool Programs (CSPP); providing 
opportunities for staff training; and increasing flexibility in the use of contracted funds. 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Existing law: 
 
1) Establishes the Child Care and Development Services Act to provide child care 

and development services as part of a coordinated, comprehensive, and cost-
effective system serving children from birth to 13 years old and their parents 
including a full range of supervision, health, and support services through full- and 
part-time programs. (Education Code § 8200 et seq.) 

2) Defines “child care and development services” to mean services designed to 
meet a wide variety of children’s and families’ needs while parents and guardians 
are working, in training, seeking employment, incapacitated, or in need of respite. 
(EC § 8208) 

3) States the intent of the Legislature that all families have access to child care and 
development services, through resource and referral where appropriate, and 
regardless of demographic background or special needs, and that families are 
provided the opportunity to attain financial stability through employment, while 
maximizing growth and development of their children, and enhancing their 
parenting skills through participation in child care and development programs. 
(EC § 8202) 

4) Requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction to administer general child care 
and development programs to include, among other things as specified, age- and 
developmentally-appropriate activities, supervision, parenting education and 
involvement, and nutrition.  Further allows such programs to be designed to meet 
child-related needs identified by parents or guardians. (EC § 8240 and 8241) 



AB 2626 (Mullin)   Page 2 of 6 
 
5) Requires families to meet certain criteria in order to be eligible for federal and 

state subsidized child development services, including that a family must be 
either a current aid recipient, income eligible, homeless, or one whose children 
are recipients of protective services or have been identified as being abused, or 
neglected. (EC §8263) 

6) Defines “income eligible,” for purposes of establishing initial income eligibility for 
subsidized child care services to mean that a family’s adjusted monthly income is 
at or below 70 percent of the state median income (SMI), adjusted for family size. 
(EC § 8263.1) 

7) Defines “ongoing income eligible” to mean that a family’s adjusted monthly 
income is at or below 85 percent of the SMI, adjusted for family size. (EC § 
8263.1) 

8)  States that, with certain exceptions, once a family has established initial or 
ongoing   eligibility, they are considered to meet all eligibility and need 
requirements, receive services, and not be required to report income or other 
changes for at least 12 months. (EC § 8263) 

9) Requires a family that establishes initial or ongoing eligibility on the basis of 
seeking employment to be eligible to receive services for no less than six 
months. (EC § 8263) 

10)  Requires the California Department of Education (CDE) to promote full utilization 
of child care and development funds and match available unused funds with 
identified service needs and, further, requires CDE to arrange interagency 
adjustments between different contractors with the same type of contract when 
both agencies mutually agree to a temporary transfer of funds for the balance of 
the fiscal year. (EC § 8275.5) 

11)  Defines “California State Preschool Program” (CSPP) to mean part-day and full-
day educational programs for low-income or otherwise disadvantaged three- and 
four-year-olds, and includes the CSPP under the definition of child care and 
development programs which offer a full range of services for children from 0 to 
13 years of age. (EC § 8208) 

12) Requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction to administer all CSPPs, which 
include, but are not limited to, part-day age- and developmentally appropriate 
programs designed to facilitate the transition to kindergarten for three- and four-
year-old children in educational development, health services, social services, 
nutritional services, parent education and parent participation, evaluation, and 
staff development. (EC § 8235) 

13) Defines “three-year-old children” and “four-year-old children” to mean children 
who will have their third birthday or fourth birthday, respectively, on or before 
September 1 of the fiscal year in which they are enrolled in a CSPP.  (EC § 
8208) 
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14) Requires, for California State Preschool Programs (CSPPs) operating with 

funding that was initially allocated in a prior fiscal year, at least half of the 
children enrolled at a preschool site to be four years old, with certain exceptions. 
(EC § 8236) 

15) Authorizes a part-day CSPP to provide services to children in families with 
incomes up to 15 percent above the income eligibility threshold, as specified, 
provided all other eligible three- and four-year-olds have been enrolled.  Further 
specifies that no more than 10 percent of the children enrolled under a provider’s 
entire contract can be children in families above the income eligibility threshold. 
(EC § 8235) 

16) Authorizes a part-day CSPP to, after all otherwise eligible children have been 
enrolled, provide services to three- and four-year-old children whose families 
earn incomes above the eligibility threshold if the children have been identified as 
“children with exceptional needs” and specifies that these children not be 
counted toward the cap in (15) above. (EC § 8235) 

17) Requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction to implement a plan that 
establishes reasonable standards and assigned reimbursement rates for child 
care and development services, to vary by length of program year and hours of 
service, and establishes amounts for, and provides for an annual cost-of-living 
adjustment to, the standard reimbursement rate. (EC § 8265) 

18) Authorizes individualized child care subsidy plans in each of 11 counties – 
Alameda, Contra Costa, Fresno, Marin, Monterey, San Benito, San Diego, Santa 
Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, and Sonoma – as pilot projects to allow for greater 
flexibility in subsidized child care programs to ensure that subsidies received by 
these counties are used to address local needs, conditions, and priorities of 
working families in their respective communities. (EC § 8332-8332.8) 

19) Authorizes an individualized county child care subsidy plan for each of the City 
and County of San Francisco and San Mateo County to allow for greater 
flexibility in subsidized child care programs to ensure that subsidies received by 
these counties are used to address local needs, conditions, and priorities of 
working families in their respective communities. (EC § 8335-8335.6, 8347-
8347.5) 

ANALYSIS 
 
This bill: 
 
1) Modifies, for purposes of determining CSPP eligibility, the date by which a child 

must have his or her third or fourth birthday from September 1 to December 1 of 
the fiscal year of enrollment.  Further, stipulates that children who have their third 
birthday on or after December 2 may be enrolled in a CSPP after their third 
birthday.  
 

2) Requires any child less than four-years of age to be served in a CSPP facility, 
licensed in accordance with state community care licensing regulations. 
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3) Deletes the requirement that CSPPs operating with funding initially allocated in a 

prior fiscal year must have at least one-half of enrollment made up of four-year-
olds. 
 

4) Requires the California Department of Education (CDE) to: 
 

a)  Promote full utilization of child care and development funds and match  
available unused funds with identified service needs.  

 
b) Arrange interagency adjustments between California state preschool  

contracts and general child care contracts for the same agency and 
funding allocation. 
 

c) Establish timelines for interagency contract fund transfer and authorizes  
CDE to implement and administer these adjustments through the issuance 
of guidance or other written directives, as specified. 

 
d) Establish timelines for interagency contract fund transfers between  

different contractors with the same type of contract who have agreed to 
interagency adjustments, as authorized in current law, and authorizes 
CDE to implement and administer these adjustments through the issuance 
of guidance or other written directives, as specified. 

 
5) Deletes the requirement that a family establishing initial or ongoing eligibility on 

the basis of seeking employment receive services for no less than six months, as 
specified, thereby requiring these families to be treated like other eligible families 
and to receive services for no less than 12 months, as specified. 
 

6) Modifies the definition of “income eligible,” for purposes of establishing initial 
income eligibility for subsidized childcare to mean that a family’s adjusted 
monthly income is at or below 85 percent, rather than 70 percent, of the state 
median income, adjusted for family size, as specified.  

 
7) Authorizes a center-based child care agency contracting with CDE to provide 

center-based child care services to schedule up to two days of staff training, per 
contract period, using state reimbursement funding for certain topics.  

 
8) Makes technical changes.  
 
STAFF COMMENTS 
 
1) Need for the bill. According to the author, “Existing law does not reflect the fiscal 

reality of California’s diverse socio-economic landscape.  Families living in rural 
California often face poverty and lack of access to services while those living in 
metropolitan areas struggle with high costs of living and housing shortages. 
These issues pose challenges to meeting the early care and education needs of 
working families.    
 
Recent legislation has allowed 13 pilot counties to set exceptions to statewide 
requirements and flexibility for families living and receiving services in those 
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counties. The unintended consequence of these proposals is inequity in services 
across the state. Families in neighboring counties have different or enhanced 
benefits for services, depending on which county they reside in or receive 
services from.   
 
As a result, these policies are causing inequities for providers child care and 
early learning services, as reimbursement rates may differ from county to county.  
Additionally, providers serving in multiple counties may be receiving different 
reimbursements depending on the location of the facility.  
 
Providers of services are finding it increasingly difficult to earn the contract funds 
due to: low eligibility thresholds, age restrictions of children they can enroll, 
program quality requirements and low reimbursement rates.” 
 

2) Unused funds. According to information provided by the Santa Clara County 
Office of Education, in Fiscal Year 2015-16, all 58 counties collectively returned 
over $200 million in under-earned child care contract dollars. Child care providers 
are finding it increasingly difficult to earn contract funds due to: low eligibility 
thresholds, age restrictions of children they can enroll, program quality 
requirements and low reimbursement rates. At the same time, less than 14 
percent of eligible infants and toddlers have access to subsidized care in our 
great state. 
 

3) State-subsidized child care. Families may be eligible for state-subsidized child 
care through participation in CalWORKs, or based on income and if they can 
show need for child care services.  Income eligibility for families that are not 
current recipients of CalWORKs (general child care) is established, initially, at 70 
percent of state median income. Families remain income eligible until their 
adjusted monthly income exceeds 85 percent of the most recent state median 
income, adjusted for family size. The state’s child care and development services 
are delivered to eligible families through two categories of providers, providers 
with a direct service contract with the CDE and voucher-based licensed and 
licensed-exempt . This mixed delivery system allows families to choose from 
center-based care, family child care homes and in-home care.  
 
This bill increases the initial income eligibility threshold from 70 percent to 85 
percent of the most recent state median income.  
 

4) California State Preschool Program.  State Preschool provides both part-day 
and full-day services to eligible three- and four-year-olds with four-year-olds 
having priority. One-half of enrollments must be made up of four-year-olds. State 
Preschool can be offered in various settings, including child care centers, family 
child care network homes, school districts, or county offices of education.  
Approximately two-thirds of children in State Preschool are served by local 
education agencies, and the remaining one-third are served by community-based 
organizations.  State Preschool programs must have a 1:8 adult-to-child ratio, 
and a 1:24 teacher-to-child ratio, teachers must have a Child Development 
Teacher Permit, which includes 24 units in early childhood education and/or child 
development and 16 general education units.  
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This measure changes the date for determining three and four-year-old eligibility 
for State Preschool thereby expanding the group of children (i.e. older two-year-
olds) who may be enrolled in the program. This bill also removes the requirement 
that 50 percent of enrollment be made up of four-year-olds. This change allows 
providers to increase enrollment of two or three-year-olds beyond the 50 percent 
limit. Four-year-olds will continue to have priority over the other age groups.  
 

5) Local flexibility extended to 13 counties.  Existing law allows 13 counties—11 
pilot programs and 2 permanent, flexibility to change local policies different than 
what is permitted under state law concerning child care subsidy programs with 
regard to eligibility criteria, fees, reimbursement rates and methods of maximizing 
efficient use of subsidy funds. During the enactment of the 11 pilot programs 
concerns were raised that providing relief to individual counties may delay 
statewide fixes to the broader system. Allowing individual counties to preserve 
funds for child care purposes failed to address issues regarding single statewide 
income eligibility criteria, reimbursement and fund restrictions that are not 
necessarily unique to those counties but impact counties across the state.   
 
Similar to the statutory authority granted for the 13 counties, by increasing 
income eligibility ceiling, modifying age eligibility requirements and authorizing 
interagency adjustments between State Preschool contracts and general child 
care contracts, this bill seeks to provide greater flexibility for child care 
contractors to better match funds with identified needs for subsidized child care 
services statewide. 

 
SUPPORT 
 
California Alternative Payment Program Association 
California Child Care Coordinators Association 
Child Care Alliance Los Angeles  
Child Care Law Center  
Community Child Care Council of Sonoma County  
Early Edge California  
First 5 LA   
Fresno County Superintendent of Schools 
Local Early Education Planning Council  
San Diego County Office of Education  
San Diego Unified School District 
San Mateo Child Care Partnership Council  
Santa Clara County Office of Education  
State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Tom Torlakson  
 
OPPOSITION 
None received 
 
 

-- END -- 


